USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

USB Image Tool support forum
Post Reply
Kuro
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:03 pm

USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

Post by Kuro » Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:08 pm

Due to Windows 8 certification, all USB thumb drives will no longer be set as removable media. I got the new SanDisk Cruzer Fit 4GB and it is seen as a HDD under Windows, where as the older Cruzer Fit I have is seen as removable disk.

See:

http://aussiestorageblog.wordpress.com/ ... fts-fault/

Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

Post by Alex » Wed Mar 05, 2014 8:11 pm

It seems to depend on the flash drive manufacturer, how the drive is configured. As the last comment on the link says, Sandisk switched back to configuring it's flash drives as removable again.

However, you can also see the fixed drives by activating the HDD option in USB Image Tool.

hydrax
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:36 am

Re: USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

Post by hydrax » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:38 am

Some guys at my work noticed this issue too.

So now when we restore a previously created image file to one of these USB's that are configured as fixed drives, they show as empty drives still afterwards.

Anyone had any success with this?

gatorback
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:42 pm

Re: USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

Post by gatorback » Sun Nov 09, 2014 7:53 pm

Alex wrote:However, you can also see the fixed drives by activating the HDD option in USB Image Tool.
This option enabled the application to 'see' a 16GB Sandisk Cruzer drive. The application was able to see a 64GB Kingston USB memory stick, so I do not think size is a factor.

Is there a bit that can be set on the 16GB Cruzer so that windows sees this as a removable drive and it unnecessary to active the HDD option in USB Image Tool? Is there a simple process to set this bit?

Thank you

Alex
Site Admin
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: USB removable media bit is now set as HDD

Post by Alex » Mon Nov 10, 2014 7:04 pm


Post Reply